Fema logo

Getting Real II

Promising Practices in Inclusive Emergency Management for the Whole Community

 

Show All

Below are links to all the Plenary Session videos from the conference.

Select the PRACTICES tab above to access the "Best Practices" archive.

The event agenda, summary video and speaker contacts are under the SUMMARY tab.


Monday Sept. 12, 2011
Opening session
6:00 - 10:00 pm Eastern

Marcie Roth,
Director, Office of Disability Integration and Coordination, FEMA
Play Video | Get Transcript


Kareem Dale,
Special Assistant to the President for Disability Policy, White House
Play Video | Get Transcript


Rich Serino,
Deputy Administrator, FEMA
Play Video | Get Transcript


Ari Ne'eman,
National Council on Disability
Play Video | Get Transcript


Ruth Brannon,
National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research
Play Video | Get Transcript


Donald Lumpkins,
Executive Director, FEMA Presidential Policy Directive- 8
Play Video | Get Transcript


Tuesday Sept. 13, 2011
Morning Plenary
9:00 - 10:15 am Eastern

Marcie Roth,
Director, Office of Disability Integration and Coordination, FEMA
EAS (Emergency Alert System) test overview
Play Video | Get Transcript


Representative Gus Bilirakis,
Chairman, US House of Representatives, Committee on Homeland Security, Subcommittee on Emergency Preparedness, Response and Communications
Play Video | Get Transcript


Laura Conway,
Individual and Community Preparedness Directorate and Office of Disability Integration and Coordination, FEMA
Play Video | Get Transcript


Specialists and ODIC Team
Regional Disability Integration Specialists
Play Video | Get Transcript


Wednesday Sept. 14, 2011
Morning Plenary
8:30 - 9:30 am Eastern

Marcie Roth,
Director, Office of Disability Integration and Coordination, FEMA

Margo Schlanger,
Officer for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Craig Fugate,
Administrator, FEMA

Play Video | Get Transcript

Wednesday Sept. 14, 2011
Event Summary
3:00-5:00 pm Eastern

"The End of The Beginning"

Team Reports on their experience and take aways from Getting Real II

Play Video | Get Transcript

Show All

A.L.E.R.T.: Autism Lifesaving Emergency Response Training Program (Goldfarb)

Note: There is no ASL available for the first 20 seconds

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides | Get Slide txt


Accessible Emergency Communications over Wireless Platforms (Mitchell)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Addressing Children's Disaster Related Needs in Joplin, Missouri (Brady, Jones, Koziol)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Alianza Emergency Preparedness Project Plus: Making REAL changes one family at a time (Majeski/Sathan/Cubillo)

Note: There is no ASL available for the first 1.5 minutes

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


American Red Cross and National Disability Rights Network: National Partnership - Stewarding Inclusive Partnership & Community Engagement to Enhance Disaster Readiness & Response (Kristenson, Kidwell, Choi)

Captions and transcript posting soon

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


An Inclusive Emergency Response to 2011 Alabama Tornadoes (Edwards / Geiger / Sisson/Schoening / McCarthy-Barnett / Batchelor / Fugate)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


AT (Assistive Technology) the Ready! Incorporating AT and AT Reutilization in Emergency Management (Rust/Goldman) ***

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Be Ready; Be Safe-Disaster Planning Program for Consumers and Families Living with Mental Health Challenges (Wells)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Being Prepared: MN Emergency Preparedness Center: The Lessons Learned Through North Minneapolis May 22nd Tornado (Kenney)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Bridging Gaps in Preparedness (Walker)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Captioned Braille Radio Initiative: Providing Emergency Information for Individuals who are Deaf-Blind (Starling/Sheffield)

Play Video | Get Transcript |
Get Slide txt


CERT and the Disability Community (Carter)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


City of Richmond's (CA) Fully Inclusive Resilient Emergency Management Journey (Gerk)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


ClackamasVolunteers.org Volunteer Management System (Burley)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Cross Border Inclusive Emergency Preparedness (Cameron)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Developing a Mobile TIPS for First Responders (Stough)

Captions and transcript posting soon

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Do Not Forget Your ADA Coordinator! (Fadale)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Emergency Readiness Training for Families Affected by Disability (Wolf-Fordham)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Emergency Registries and Alternatives: Tools for Decision Makers (Kailes)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Empowerment Through Emergency Preparedness Integration (Kaufman/Lima)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Fragrance-Free FEMA: A First Step Toward Access For Those Disabled By Environmental Exposures (Lamielle)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


From Grass-Roots Practices to Government Policy: San Francisco's Model of Interagency Collaboration for Disability Inclusive Disaster Planning and Response (Fraguli)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Full Participant Inclusion in Emergency Preparedness Organizations & Initiatives: Focusing Beyond the Planning Stage (Byerly, Dickson, Hibbs)

Captions and transcript posting soon

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Functional Assessment Service Teams (FAST) Program in California (Kailes/Devylder/Logan)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


"Get Real"- Using NFPA's Emergency Evacuation Planning Guide for People with Disabilities (Fraser)

Captions and transcript posting soon

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Hawaii Feeling Safe Being Safe Training Strategies (Skaggs, Kelly, Getty)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Inclusion of People with Disabilities into CERT (Boyce)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Inclusion Requires Communication (Chiodo)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Inclusive Emergency Planning and Response –It's About the Partnerships (Ford / Davis)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Islamic Relief USA – A Story of Service for the Whole Community (Lea)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides


| Get Slide txt

Louisiana Promising Practices: Preparedness Planning for All (Karam & Abadie)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Missouri Community Preparedness for Seniors (Hunter)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Planning Tools (Matherly)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Preparing Together - A Partnership to Prepare Seniors and Individuals with Functional and Access Needs (Orfitelli)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Promising Practices for Evacuation of People with Disabilities (Norwood)

Captions and transcript posting soon

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Responding to Emergencies with Youth: the Wisconsin Experience (Menard-Muller and Students)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


San Diego County's Promising Practices (Richardson)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Sign Language Interpreter Strike Teams (Pope, Bailey, Kaufman, Schisler)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Stair Descent Device Performance: Current Research and Standards Efforts (Lavender/Hedman)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Team Building and Collaboration in Hawaii (Jackson)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Texas Functional Needs Support Services Toolkit: Integration, Collaboration and Content (O'Neill)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


The New Disaster Policy Wiki - What It Is and How To Use It (Smilowitz)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Using the CMIST Model to Engage Community (Springer, Hasauer)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


What About The Children? (Henning)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


What is Emergency Preparedness for Individuals with Disabilities? (Olsen)

Play Video | Get Transcript
Get Slides| Get Slide txt


Show All

Download the full agenda PDF for cross references.

Download Agenda

Event Summary

"The End of The Beginning"

Team Reports on their experience and take aways from Getting Real II

Play Video | Get Transcript

Event Speaker Listing

Allan, William
Disability Policy Consortium, Inc wfallan@dpcma.org

Anderson, Sheila sanderson@rwbaird.com

Anderson, Josh sanderson@rwbaird.com

Bailey, Janet
Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf
govtaffairs@rid.org


Boyce, Cherie
Office of Emergency Management
cherie.boyce@ocfl.net


Burley, Galina
Clackamas County
gburley@co.clackamas.or.us


Burrors, Brian
brianburrors@bellsouth.net


Byerly, Jennifer
The Rockport Engagement Center
itsme47635@yahoo.com


Cameron, Carl
Inclusion Research Institute
ctcameron@inclusionresearch.org


Carter, Linda
Lehigh Acres Fire and Rescue/No Person Left Behind
linda.carter@lehighacrescert.com


Chiodo, Kay
Deaf Link Inc.
kaychiodo@deaflink.com


Choi, Juliet
American Red Cross
choijk@usa.redcross.org

Cubillo, Yessi
yessi.cubillo@cpamc.org


Davis, Jon
Polk County Emergency Management
jon.davis@polkcountyiowa.gov


Devylder, Richard
US DOT
richard.devylder@dot.gov


Edwards, Gary
United Cerebral Palsy of Greater Birmingham
gedwards@ucpbham.com


Engelman, Alina
Health Research for Action
engelman@berkeley.edu


Fadale, Anthony
State of Kansas SRS
anthony.fadale@srs.ks.gov


Fitzgerald, Mike
Health and Human Services
fmfitzgerald@comcast.net


Ford, Karin
Iowa Department of Public Health
karin.ford@idph.iowa.gov


Fraguli, Joanna
City and County of San Francisco
joanna.fraguli@sfgov.org


Fraser, Allan
National Fire Protection Association
afraser@nfpa.org


Fugate, Sheree
American Red Cross
fugate11902@gmail.com


Galifianakis, Katherine
American Red Cross
galifianakisk@usa.redcross.org


Geiger, Brian
University of Alabama
bgeiger@uab.edu


Gerk, CEM, Kathryn
City of Richmond
kathy_gerk@ci.richmond.ca.us


Goldfarb, B. Madeleine
Noah's Ark institute
bmadeleine@noahsarkinstitute.org


Goldman, Amy
amy@passitoncenter.org


Grisham, Tyler
simpson_grisham@yahoo.com


Hausauer, Erin
Stearns County
erin.hausauer@co.stearns.mn.us


Hedman, Glenn
University of Illinois at Chicago
ghedman@uic.edu


Henning, Kathleen
International Association of Emergency Managers
prepare4@earthlink.net


Hunter, Charity
Division of Senior and Disability Services
charity.hunter@health.mo.gov


Jackson, Debbra
Disability & Communication Access Board
debbra.jackson@doh.hawaii.gov


Kailes, June
jik@pacbell.net


Karam, Jamie
LATAN
jkaram@latan.org


Kaufman, Angela
City of Los Angeles
angela.kaufman@lacity.org


Kenney, Julie
IPSSII Inc.
julie.kenneyipsiiinc@gmail.com


Kidwell, Tim
American Red Cross- Greater Houston Area
tkidwell@ghac.org


Lamielle, Mary
National Center for Environmental Health Strategies
marylamielle@ncehs.org


Lavender, Steve
Ohio State University
lavender1@osu.edu


Lima, Gary
Tennessee Emergency Management Agency
glima@tnema.org


Logan, Michael
American Red Cross
loganm@usa.redcross.org


Majeski, Venus
New Jersey Institute for Disabilities
venus.majeski@njid.org


Mansueto, Marc
ILRU at TIRR Memorial Hermann
mansueto@bcm.edu


Markenson, David
Westchester Medical Center
markensond@wcmc.com


Martin-Anzuoni, Nina
Franklin Regional Council of Governments
nina@frcog.org


Matherly, Deborah
The Louis Berger Group, Inc.
dmatherly@louisberger.com

Menard-Mueller, Maggie
Woodlands School
msmaggiemm@aim.com


Mitchell, PhD, Helena
Georgia Institute of Technology
helena@cacp.gatech.edu


Mobley, Jane
Jane Mobley Associates
jmobley@janemobley.com


Murnane, Amelia
jmurnane@tds.net


Norwood, Frances
Inclusion Research Institute
fnorwood@inclusionresearch.org


Olsen, Jason
olsen.jason@dol.gov


O'Neill, William
Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
william.o'neill@dars.state.tx.us


Orfitelli, Michael
The Salvation Army
michael_orfitelli@use.salvationarmy.org


Place Richardson, Stasia
County of San Diego
stasia.place@sdcounty.ca.gov


Pope, Rick
rrpope@rrpope.com


Reynolds, Roxann
CA Health and Human Services Agency
roxann.reynolds@dss.ca.gov


Roy, Judy
bhamilc1@bellsouth.net


Ruge, Richard
Disaster Preparedness for Various Populations
rruge@pacbell.net


Sackman, Kim
California Department of Social Services
kim.sackman@dss.ca.gov


Sathan, Randi
New Jersey Institute for Disabilities
randi.sathan@njid.org


Schisler, Terri
Florida Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (FRID)
President@FRIDcentral.org


Schoening, Julie
American Red Cross
schoeningj@usa.redcross.org


Sheffield, Ellyn
Towson University
esheffield@towson.edu


Sisson, Graham
graham.sisson@good.alabama.gov


Skaggs, Dawn
Center on Disability Studies
bskaggs@hawaii.edu


Slater, Robyn
Chester County Department of Emergency Services
rslater@chesco.org


Smilowitz, Ben
Disaster Accountability Project
ben@disasteraccountability.org


Smith, Mark
Mississippi Department of Human Services
mark.smith@mdhs.ms.gov


Springer, Janice
American Red Cross
springerja@usa.redcross.org


Starling, Michael
NPR
mstarling@npr.org


Stough, Laura
Texas A&M University
lstough@tamu.edu


Swenson, William
Inclusion Research Institute
wgswenson@inclusionresearch.org


Thomas, Chad
Philadelphia
chad.thomas@phila.gov


Vann, Amarhi
crazeeon34thst@msn.com


Walker, Stephanie
Northeast Texas Public Health District
stephanie.walker@talho.org


Wells, Conni
AXIS Group I
cjwells@axisgroup1.net


Whalen, David
Niagara University
dwhalen@niagara.edu


Wolf-Fordham, Sue
University of MA Medical School
susan.wolf-fordham@umassmed.edu

 

The Player is not working in your browser: info@itsallon.tv
 

Full Participant Inclusion in Emergency Preparedness Organizations/Initiatives: Focusing Beyond the Planning Stage (Byerly, Dickson, Hibbs)

This session highlights the important role of peer support in the integration of emergency organizations/initiatives as consumers Need, Want, and Deserve to participate fully in all aspects of planning, exercising, and responding. Diversity matters and all benefit from relationships with consumers who represent the disability community. Servant leadership, policy making and advocacy to promote full integration will be addressed. Examine the success of and how to of the adapting of the FEMA/Citizen Corps Girl Scout Patch Program for addressing public health/safety, and emergency preparedness, along with learning how to assemble a pet/service animal "Grab-N-Go" bags. Leave inspired to promote consumer to consumer engagement and the wellness recovery movement.